The 2023 blacklist of airlines banned from European skies

This is particularly the case of the Nepalese company Yeti Airlines, one of whose planes crashed on Sunday January 15. The death toll was 68. Entire countries are sometimes present in this list, such as Afghanistan, Armenia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Congo-Brazzaville, Eritrea, Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Kyrgyzstan, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Sudan and, therefore, Nepal. In other words, all airlines certified by these countries are prohibited from flying over the European Union.

The first list compiled in 2006

It was in March 2006 that the European Commission drew up its first “black list” of carriers deemed dangerous, after the series of air disasters in the summer of 2005. Since then, this list has been updated every six months. There are, for example, Iran Aseman Airlines, Iraqi Airways or Avior Airlines.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *