fifth victory for Nasser al-Attiyah in the car, 2nd place for Loeb

The Toyota driver, who beat Sébastien Loeb by more than an hour, achieved a fifth success this Sunday on the Dakar.

Qatari Nasser al-Attiyah (Toyota) won his fifth Dakar rally-raid by car, after 2011, 2015, 2019 and 2022, at the end of the 14th and final stage in Dammam (Saudi Arabia) on Sunday. Triple stage winner, the defending champion is more than an hour ahead of Frenchman Sébastien Loeb (Prodrive) and young Brazilian Lucas Moraes (Toyota).

In the lead since the third stage of the rally-raid which started on December 31 from the shores of the Red Sea near Yanbu, the 52-year-old driver was 20 minutes ahead of Stéphane Peterhansel (Audi) and 33 over that by Spaniard Carlos Sainz. Then he saw a boulevard open with the abandonment of these two main rivals, respectively on January 6 and 10. The rest of the race was for him only control and mastery, all in management.


Loeb 2nd as in 2017 and 2022

In tandem with the French co-driver Mathieu Baumel, for whom this is the fourth coronation in the legendary rally-raid, Al-Attiyah, Olympic medalist in the skeet event (the official name of clay pigeon shooting at the Olympics), n e have never been worried during this edition despite the shadow of Audi hybrids and their supposed overpowering.

Victory in the 14th and final stage went to Frenchman Guerlain Chicherit (Prodrive), on Sunday, very far in the general classification. A general classification in which Sébastien Loeb finished second for the third time after the 2017 editions on Peugeot and 2022 already on Prodrive. The French driver nevertheless marked the history of the Dakar during this edition by snatching six consecutive stage victories, a first in the mythical rally-raid.

Dakar 2023: the last ten winners

2023: Nasser al-Attiyah/Mathieu Baumel (QAT-FRA/Toyota)

2022: Nasser al-Attiyah/Mathieu Baumel (QAT-FRA/Toyota)

2021: Stéphane Peterhansel/Edouard Boulanger (FRA/Mini)

2020: Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/Mini)

2019: Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota)

2018: Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/Peugeot)

2017: Stéphane Peterhansel/Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA/Peugeot)

2016: Stéphane Peterhansel/Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA/Peugeot)

2015: Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Mini)

2014: Nani Roma/Michel Périn (ESP/FRA/Mini)

2013: Stéphane Peterhansel/Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA/Mini)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *